Planning: A Trip to The Bonny’s

Its May and we need to get out and see the world. So we decide with limited weekends (because of the many graduation parties coming up) we need to go ASAP and a find a National Park close within a weekend ride. Bonneville Salt Flats was our destination! (I call the park The Bonny’s)

Selecting the Route

To take the I-15 towards Vegas or the CA-395 towards Reno? Using good old Google maps, I type in Home to Bonneville Salt Flats. Google will always direct you the fastest and shortest route, which meant taking the I-15. Yup, I took the easy way out and decided on taking the I-15 to Las Vegas as my starting route. Why? Because every Angeleno travels the I-15 to Vegas at least twice a year.

Finding the Stops / Sights

To find my stops, I start by using Google maps as a starting point to find destinations along the route. Here a few of the items that caught my eye on the I-15:

  • Mojave National Preserve
  • Zzyzx Road Exit
  • 7 Magic Mountains
  • Las Vegas Strip
  • Freemont, Las Vegas
  • St. George
  • Zion National Park
  • Bryce Canyon National Park
  • Salt Lake City

From my home to the Bonny’s it comes out to be roughly 800 miles. Which for me, that is a long day of riding, the max I have done is 750 miles in one day and it was exhausting! So 2 days of riding it is. What is the middle point? Hmmmm, Las Vegas of course!!!

With an average of 180 – 200 miles per gas tank I decided to stop at the following places for gas:

  • Barstow, CA …………….. 150 Miles
  • Las Vegas, NV…………100 Miles
  • Cedar City, UT…………180 Miles
  • Provo, UT ……………….200 Miles
  • Bonneville Salt Flats….. 160 Miles (DESTINATION)
  • West Wendover, NV……..13 Miles
  • Ely, NV ……………………..120 Miles
  • Crystal Springs, NV ………120 Miles
  • Las Vegas, NV …………….100 Miles

-Captain M

Leave a Reply

